Whitespace, Architecturally Inspired Zen

The Diva has presented another weekly challenge, and this one is right up my alley!

I have been a huge admirer of Frank Lloyd Wright, architect (1867-1959), and Piet Mondrian, artist (1872-1944), for as long as I have been able to appreciate architecture and art. The brilliance of both men is evident in the simplicity and beauty of their works. If any two men are responsible for any artistic ambition I have ever had, I would say that these men are those two. I could go on about my admiration of these men, but I am afraid I would fail miserably, understating the significance of their contributions to each of their respective fields.

As something like a tribute to these men, I have been thinking about recreating some of their abstract designs for use as strings for my Zentangle-inspired creations. (I have already created one or two ZIAs using strings inspired by abstract art from the 1920s and 30s). The moment I read this week’s challenge, I knew that I would be incorporating Neoplasticism, Art Nouveau, Prairie or what has become commonly referred to as Art Deco style into the string, as each style lends itself freely to the concept of whitespace, which is this week’s challenge:

Try leaving a big open white space in your piece this week! (sic)

You would think that with all of the fanfare over the works of Wright and Mondrian in this post I might have the decency to create a string from the works of one of these two men, but that would actually make sense, so I didn’t do that. My string for this challenge submission is derived from a stained glass window inspired by the window designs of Frank Lloyd Wright and adapted to accommodate a touch of ZIA with an abundance of whitespace.

Having said that, I suppose the only thing left is to reveal my response to the challenge… So, here it is: Wrightspace

image

The Diva's Weekly Challenge #155

The window design from which I created my string features the primary colors red, yellow and blue plus the secondary color green. I would have liked to have imitated the exact color placement in my tangles, but I wasn’t able to find a suitable yellow (one that would display the tangles in bold, vivid color), so I substituted the secondary color violet for the model’s yellow. I created a single instance of select tangles in the small areas of the string using pens in colors corresponding to the solidly colored in areas of the model image. (Where the model design shows a solid red square I created a singular red tangle. So on for blue, etc..) For the larger areas I repeated tangles to create patterns, in corresponding colors, using the same scale as the small areas.

So… What do you think of it?

24 thoughts on “Whitespace, Architecturally Inspired Zen

  1. I think you used the idea of white space very creatively and uniquely. Frank LLoyd Wright had some very original and innovative approaches to architecture and would be pleased to see your interpretation done in his honor.

    • Welcome back, Kate! Nothing says “fun” like Zentangle-inspired tributes to past-centuries’ architectural geniuses for their contributions to modern art! (Or is that just me? Lol.) Thanks for the compliment!

Comments are closed.