This One I’ll Keep

I’ve been busy lately. I’ve made over 2 dozen new pieces of jewelry for my etsy shop and I have listed over half of it already with the rest to be added shortly.

I always have to keep in mind when I am designing a piece of jewelry to sell that the item will belong to someone else and not let myself become attached to the item. Although, everything I make is made to my personal taste, I have been able to stay emotionally unattached to my creations. Well, I have been able to compartmentalize how I feel about what I make with every piece I’ve made…  Until now.

Bracelets, you see, are my weakness. I especially like to stack piles of those tiny, metal bangles on my arms and FTW if it doesn’t like the way I jingle when I move. They make me feel pretty when they are stacked deep,  so that’s how I plan to continue wearing them.

The only time the jingle bothers me is when I am making jewelry. When my hands are busy, the jingling becomes clanking and that makes me crazy. That’s why I have made a bracelet just for me…

And this is it…

image

I made this bangle/cuff from a stack of bangles I’ve acquired over time and some wire scrap. I am not able to go so far as claim to have a tutorial to post, but I am going to show you how I did it, for the most part,  so you can make one, too.

Here’s what I used:

image

Discarded mixed metal bangles, scrap wire (not shown), round-nose pliers, flush cutters

Here’s what I did:

First, I cut each of the bangles with the flush cutters.

image

The I slightly separated the opening without altering the overall shape of the bracelet.

image

Next, I used my round-nose pliers to bend the ends of the bracelet inward to create two small loops.

image

And made sure that my scrap wire would fit through the loops.

image

*Side note: I realize that the wire in the photos is not scrap. I ended up using a different gauge and color of wire for this project. The wire that was ultimately chosen is 19 gauge dark annealed steel wire, which worked out well.

I repeated the first four steps with each remaining bangle (about 2 dozen times or so).

image

I had a hard time handling the bracelets while I wrapped the ends of wire into loops at each end of the stack of cuffs, but found that a can of air freshener is helpful for keeping the pieces in order.

Here are the the results…  (pardon the lighting, please).

image

image

Now this bracelet I everything I love about stacking bangles and won’t make me nuts while I am making jewelry for my shop.

I would love to know what you think of it. Please leave me a comment.

2 thoughts on “This One I’ll Keep

  1. What a great idea! I have a stack of those bangles myself and the jingle drives me crazy most of the time so I don’t wear them often. Now maybe I can! Thanks for sharing your idea.

Comments are closed.