WordPress Tips: Post Excerpts in RSS Feeds

Oh, Lord, it’s hard to be humble… But sometimes I get in my own way and make a bit of an ass of myself. I know, it’s hard to believe, right? I’ve learned that just making an ass of myself is usually not a sufficient lesson from which I can learn how to not trip myself up. Inevitably, the lesson includes calling attention to the fact that I’ve goofed up and that act is often accompanied by red cheeks, warm ears, a sheepish grin and little opportunity to save face. Today a fellow blogger gave me that opportunity. Without boring you with the embarrassing details, I’ll cut straight to the preservation of my blogging honor: broadcasting post excerpts in RSS/subscription feeds rather than entire articles.

This may be the shortest and sweetest, single-image WordPress tutorial in history, so don’t blink or you’ll miss it. Ready?

Step #1:

feedsummary

dashboard > settings > reading


(Click the image to enlarge it.)

And that’s about all there is to it. Hope this helps!

5 thoughts on “WordPress Tips: Post Excerpts in RSS Feeds

    • WordPress is an amazing engine, if you ask me, but I have been loving it for years. I’ve set up several other blogs, but this is my first time setting up or using WordPress.com rather than a private/self-hosted domain. The limitations of the .com trip me up quite a bit, but I’m catching on. Luckily for me this particular setting is one that transcends the .com so I already knew how to address the issue. As for the rest… I think it was said best in a comment on my blog by Home Sweet Here: “But we’ll get there and it will be wonderful, right?”

      If you (any of you…) need a hand with WordPress issues anywhere along the way, hit me up for a solution and I’ll give it my best shot.

      • (Post excerpts in RSS feeds rather than full text posts helps drive traffic to your site rather than leaving money on the table, so to speak… or in this case leaving money is your subscribers’ RSS readers.)

    • Waaaaaaaay easier than sending a “will you like my post that you liked already because I deleted the one you liked trying to make it better than it was even though you liked it just the way it was before I screwed it up by double posting it” email… Like, ya know?

      (At least that’s what I felt like I was asking when I asked it… UGH.)

      😀

Comments are closed.