Finding Purpose

Find Your Purpose.Image

How difficult can it be?

Purpose is an interesting concept to me. It eludes me, actually. In the grand scheme of the universe, I’m not sure that I believe that every person that lives or has lived on this planet was created by an all-knowing being for a uniquely specific purpose.

On the other hand, there are times I have felt that life was put into me for a specific reason, other times I have felt fairly useless. I’ve also felt that I have been put here to do one specific and special thing that no one else was or could have been able to do but that I’ve already served that purpose and the remainder of this life is kind of a recess or free time and it’s up to me to determine how to fill that time while I’m here.

I’ve tried to fill the time with a wide variety of projects and jobs as well has hobbies and even a few husbands, but so far, none of them have happened to “stick.” As a result, I’m still trying to find my purpose for the remainder of my time in this life.

2 thoughts on “Finding Purpose

  1. “I think the purpose of life is to be useful, to be responsible, to be honorable, to be compassionate. It is, after all, to matter: to count, to stand for something, to have made some difference that you lived at all.” –Leo C. Rosten
    I like this quote. As far as an ‘all-knowing being’…..why is it easier to see a beautiful work of art, a giant skyscraper, or something small–a pencil perhaps, and we don’t question for a second that someone made that?? But looking at the mountains, the stars at night, or a newborn baby….we are told that **poof!** they magically appeared? Hmmm…..
    Your post was heartfelt and thought provoking. 🙂

    • I have no doubt that I was “made” by some… something? someone?

      What causes my doubt is not the making, but the purpose.

      Does the maker know what his product will do? Or only what it should be capable of doing?

      Does the piano maker know that with one piano a composer will write a masterpiece for all time and another will waste away un-played?

Comments are closed.